## Last Topic - Organization of Provincial and Local Govt. of Pakistan

Provincial Government of Pakistan Local Government of Pakistan

# Organization of Provincial Govt. of Pakistan

Punjab Sindh Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Balochistan

## Pakistan

Pakistan officially the Islamic Republic of Pakistan, is a sovereign country in Asia. With a population exceeding 180 million people, it is the sixth most populous country and with an area covering 796,095 km<sup>2</sup>, it is the 36th largest country in the world in terms of area

#### Pakistan .....



## Pakistan .....

Punjab: Shahbaz Sharif (PML N) Sindh: Qaim Ali Shah (PPP) **Khyber Pakhtunkhwa: Pervez** Khattak (PTI) **Balochistan: Abdul Malik Baloch (BNP) Gilgit–Baltistan: Syed Mehdi** Shah (PPP)

# Punjab

Punjab "five waters" also spelled Panjab, is the most developed and populous province of Pakistan with approximately 55% of the country's total population

# Punjab .....

Lahore is the provincial capital and Punjab's main cultural, historical, administrative and economic center

# The Government of Punjab

The Government of Punjab is a provincial government in the federal structure of Pakistan, is based in Lahore, the capital of the Punjab Province

The Chief Minister of Punjab (CM) is elected by the Provincial Assembly of the Punjab to serve as the head of the provincial government in Punjab, Pakistan.

The Chief Minister was got reelected as a result of May 11, 2013 elections

The Provincial Assembly of the Punjab is a unicameral legislature of elected representatives of the province of Punjab, which is located in Lahore in eastern Pakistan

The Assembly was established under Article 106 of the Constitution of Pakistan as having a total of 371 seats, with 66 seats reserved for women and eight reserved for non-Muslims. There are 36 Districts districts in

Punjab, Pakistan

# Sindh

Sindh is one of the four provinces of Pakistan and historically home to the Sindhi people

It is also locally known as the "Mehran" and has been given the title of *Bab-ul-Islam* (The gateway of Islam). The name of Sindh is derived from the Indus River

Sindh is bounded to the west by the Indus River and Balochistan, to the north by Punjab, the east by the Indian states of Gujarat and Rajasthan and to the south by the Arabian Sea

#### The capital of the province is Karachi, Pakistan's largest city and financial hub

Most of the population in the province is Muslim, with sizable Hindu minorities. The main language spoken is Sindhi by about 26 million people, while there exists a significant Urdu-speaking minority of about 8 million

# The Government of Sindh

The Provincial Assembly of Sindh is unicameral and consists of 168 seats, of which 5% are reserved for non-Muslims and 17% for women

The provincial capital of Sindh is Karachi. The government is presided over by the Chief Minister of Sindh

The Chief Minister of Sindh is Re-Elected in recent Elections

Sindh is a stronghold of the centre in Pakistan's politics.

There are 24 districts in Sindh, Pakistan

## Khyber Pakhtunkhwa

Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KPK) formerly called North-West Frontier Province, is one of the four provinces of Pakistan, located in the north-west of the country

# Khyber .....

It borders the Federally Administered Tribal Areas to the west and south, Gilgit–Baltistan to the northeast, Azad Kashmir to the east, Punjab and the Islamabad Capital Territory to the south-east, and Afghanistan to the north-west. The province of Balochistan is located southwards

## Khyber .....

# The provincial capital and largest city is Peshawar

# The Government of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa

The Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly consists of 124 seats: 3 (2%) of them reserved for non-Muslims and 22 (17%) for women

The President of Pakistan appoints a Governor as head of the provincial government of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa

There is a directly elected Provincial Assembly, which has 124 elected members.

The Provincial Assembly elects a Chief Minister to act as the chief executive of the province, assisted by a cabinet of ministers

Khyber Pakhtunkhwa consists of 25 districts, comprising 20 Settled Area Districts and Provincially Administered Tribal Area (PATA) Districts

The administration of the PATA districts is vested in the President of Pakistan and the Governor of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, by Articles 246 and 247 of the Constitution of Pakistan

Peshawar is the most populated and Abbottabad is second-most populated city in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa.

There are 25 districts in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, Pakistan

Balochistan is an arid, desert and mountainous region on the Iranian highland in south-western Asia, northwest of the Arabian Sea

It mainly includes southwestern Pakistan, southeastern Iran and a very small section of southwestern Afghanistan. The southern part of Balochistan is known by its historical name Makran

Balochistan is named after the native Baloch tribes who make up the inhabitants in the region and use Balochi as their native language

Persian, Pashtu and Urdu are also used as second language depending on where they live, Brahui is spoken by Brahui minority

# The Government of Balochistan

The Balochistan region is administratively divided among three countries, Pakistan, Afghanistan and Iran

The Balochistan is the largest Province as per Area. Its capital is the city of Quetta. Other major cities in Balochistan, Pakistan, include Gwadar, Turbat, Khuzdar and Kalat

Although Baloch nationalists have never accepted Balochistan as a part of Iran, the governments of Pakistan and Iran insist on sovereignty over their parts of Balochistan

# Next Topic - Organization of Federal Govt. of Pakistan

Organization of Federal Govt. of Pakistan Legislative Branch Executive Branch Prime Minister President Cabinet Secretaries The Supreme Court of Pakistan Supreme Judicial Council Civil Service